read tarot

How to Read Tarot Cards

There are many ways to read tarot cards and the interpretations are many.  Although interpretations of tarot cards may differ from one interpreter to another, there are many universal symbols on cards that are permanent. The more knowledge you have about symbolism, the easier it will be to understand its meaning.


Cups are associated with water signs (Pisces, Cancer, and Scorpio). It puts focus on our emotions & relationships, and intuition.


Associated with earth signs (Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn), places focus on material/financial or practical needs.


Swords are associated with air signs (Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius). In readings, it points out our challenges and conflicts. At the same time, it can indicate our thoughts and ideas.


Wands are associated with fire signs (Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius). It points out our passions, creativity, and desires.

What do the Major Arcana cards Represent?

The major arcana is the “heart” of the tarot. It consists of 22 cards representing weaknesses, hopes, fears, and the darkest parts of people.

They are written in Roman numerals and ranked from zero to twenty-one. The zero is known as The Fool. It plays a key role as it moves through each map, learning lessons along the way. It is known as the Fool’s Journey.

The following tarot cards belong to the major arcana:

The Fool, The Magician, High Priestess, Empress, Emperor, Hierophant, Lovers, Chariot, Strength, Hermit, Wheel of Fortune, Justice, Hanged Man, Death, Temperance, Devil, Tower, Star, Moon, Sun, Judgment, World

They mark experience and give us answers to questions about destiny.

What do the minor Arcana cards Represent?

The minor arcana is a set of 56 carats divided into two groups. The first group consists of 40 numbered cards, divided into four colors and five different signs – sticks (fire element), goblets (water element), discs (earth element), and swords (air element).

  • The other 16 cards are royalty cards – the king and queen, the knight, and the page.
  • The minor arcana symbolizes the four people’s states: emotional, mental, physical, and spiritual.
  • It serves as a supplement to the major arcana and is equally important.

How to Bring Meaning into Your Life Through Your Tarot Readings

Tarot cards can help you every day in a variety of ways:

  • If you struggle to make decisions, big or small, the tarot can make it easier for you.
  • It will allow you to identify your thoughts and emotions, especially those you have neglected. Therefore, it will make you focus on your growth and transformation.
  • If you provide readings for yourself daily, the cards can serve you as guidance.

When it comes to your relationships with your partner, family, and other people, with the help of the cards, you can identify the challenges to find and create a solution.

You can use the cards to find insight into your life’s choices, decisions you need to make, and forecasting how things will turn out when you make those choices.

Tarot is a tool that will give a completely different meaning to your life. It will make it simpler for you to face difficulties. You will start relying on your intuition again and strengthen your faith in the Universe.

Rev. Colleen Irwin
Reverend Colleen Irwin is a Spiritual being having a human experience as a Blogger, Wife, Mother, Mentor, Healer and Public Speaker living in Rochester New York. Colleen, a Natural Born Medium, teaches, lectures and serves Spirit when called upon. She remembers speaking with Spirit as a child and learning how to share this knowledge with others has been an adventure that she captured in her book “Discovering Your Stream”. Colleen has been mentored by Reverend Jack Rudy, and ordained as a Priest in the Order of Melchizedek by the Reverend Dan Chesboro through the Sanctuary of the Beloved. When she is not doing her Spiritual work she is a volunteer docent sharing Susan B. Anthony's history to visitors of the Susan B. Anthony House in Rochester. Her trust in Spirit gave her a new title – PREVIVOR. She now uses her platform to educate others about the BRCA genetic mutation and how one can take control of their health and well-being.
affirmation love Previous post Weekly Affirmation – Overcoming Obstacles
Medium vs. Psychic - is there a difference? Next post Medium vs. Psychic – Who is better? Is there a difference?